You can use groups to organize hosts and share with teammates.

A group can be created in the Hosts section, where groups appear at the top of the screen. Adding a host to a group can be done with drag and drop or by editing the host details. A group can contain other groups, so you can organize your hosts in a more sophisticated way.

ezgif-4-b7fb072357.gif

Important: Groups are not folders. Termius shows hosts from both the group you're viewing and all of its subgroups. The same applies to the main screen, which is essentially the root group.

Inheritance

Hosts and subgroups can inherit properties from the group where they are placed, for example a username, password, color theme. A group's properties are automatically inherited by all non-explicitly specified parameters of a host or subgroup. 

ezgif-5-1561ace1ef.gif

Some usage examples:

  • You may want to define a default port for all the hosts in a group.
  • You can set up a jump host using Host Chaining for all the hosts in a group at once.
  • For safety, you could use the red theme for production servers, green for staging and blue for development to prevent running a wrong command on a production server.

Create a group

  1. On the Hosts screen, click Add > New Group.
  2. In the Set a group name... field, specify a name for the group.
  3. To add the group you're creating to another group, use the Groups menu.
  4. Specify the other parameters, if desired, similarly to how you add a host. Their values will be used by any non-explicitly specified parameters in the group's hosts.
  5. Click βž” at the top right to close the group details.
    ezgif-3-e2e024437f.gif
  1. On the Hosts screen, tap + and then New Group.
  2. In the Name field, provide a name for the group.
  3. To add the group you're creating to another group, use the Parent group menu.
  4. Specify the other parameters, if desired, similarly to how you add a host. Their values will be used by any non-explicitly specified parameters in the group's hosts.
  5. Tap Save / βœ”οΈ.
  6. ezgif-2-e22f7a00ef.gif

Move a host to a group

One way of moving a host to a group is by using drag and drop.

ezgif-4-b7fb072357.gif

Another way is to edit the host details:

  1. Right click the host and choose Edit.
  2. Click Groups at the top of the pane and select the group.
  3. Click βž” at the top right to close the host details.
    ezgif-2-1896dd4140.gif

There are several ways to move a host to a group on mobile.

  • On iOS you can use drag and drop.
    ezgif-2-49cc3ae2ac.gif
  • You can also edit the Groups field in the host details.
    ezgif-2-4a088a7ee2.gif
  • The Select > Move option is another way to move a host to a group.
    ezgif-2-209823fffc.gif

Move a host out of all groups

  1. Right click the host and choose Edit.
  2. Click Root group at the top of the pane. The host will be removed from all its groups.
  3. Click βž” at the top right to close the host details.
    ezgif-5-21878b4fd9.gif
  1. Tap and hold the desired host, then - the 'pencil' icon.
  2. In the Group section, tap the βœ• icon.
  3. Tap Save / βœ”οΈ.
  4. ezgif-2-4a088a7ee2.gif

Group sharing

This option is available in the Teams plan.

If you have the Owner or Editor role in your Termius team, you can share a group with your teammates.

When you share a group, it appears in other team members' accounts along with any associated tags, environment variables, startup snippets, proxy, and every host in host chains. A group can be shared with or without credentials depending on the setting you choose when sharing a group. The chosen setting will be automatically applied to the hosts moved to or created in the group later.

Screenshot_2022-04-29_at_20.59.02.png

A team member's role also determines what they can do with the group. Member, unlike Owner and Editor, cannot unshare, remove, or edit the group or its contents.

When you unshare a group, it disappears from other team members' accounts along with any associated credentials and chained hosts, but remains in your personal account.

Share or unshare a group

Right-click the group and click Share. Then, choose the preferred setting for sharing the group.

ezgif-5-8fbc7991cf.gif

You can choose one of three group sharing settings:

  • Do not share credentials. This option prevents any credentials from being shared. Another team member will have to set up his or her own credentials. Those credentials will be synchronized across the team member's devices.
  • Share credentials. This setting allows you to share the credentials. They will show up in your teammates' accounts, although those with the Member role will not be able to view sensitive content, e.g. a password or an actual private key.
  • MultiKey (beta). Technically, this is similar to the first option ('Do not share credentials').

To unshare, choose Unshare, instead of Share.

Tap and hold the group, then tap Share. Next, choose the preferred setting for sharing the group.

ezgif-2-8186d6ed68.gif

You can choose one of three group sharing settings:

  • Do not share credentials. This option prevents any credentials from being shared. Another team member will have to set up his or her own credentials. Those credentials will be synchronized across the team member's devices.
  • Share credentials. This setting allows you to share the credentials. They will show up in your teammates' accounts, although those with the Member role will not be able to view sensitive content, e.g. a password or an actual private key.
  • MultiKey (beta). Technically, this is similar to the first option ('Do not share credentials').

To unshare, choose Unshare, instead of Share.

Tap and hold the name of the group, then tap the top right icon and Share.

Next, choose the preferred setting for sharing the group.

16512482290411739090087988189834.gif

You can choose one of three group sharing settings:

  • Do not share credentials. This option prevents any credentials from being shared. Another team member will have to set up his or her own credentials. Those credentials will be synchronized across the team member's devices.
  • Share credentials. This setting allows you to share the credentials. They will show up in your teammates' accounts, although those with the Member role will not be able to view sensitive content, e.g. a password or an actual private key.
  • MultiKey (beta). Technically, this is similar to the first option ('Do not share credentials').

To unshare, choose Unshare, instead of Share.

Was this article helpful?

3 out of 8 found this helpful

Add comment

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Comments

2 comments

  • Andrii Krylov

    After removing Host or Group, it appears again.

    Andrii Krylov
    0
  • Dmitry Machulo

    Hi Andrii, please, contact our support team.

    Dmitry Machulo
    0